Leaving India

Leaving India

I can’t believe it’s over. We’re leaving India. Back to home and the things we know so well.

Will we see it differently? Or will we revert back to our old routines, our predictable thoughts, our habitual actions? What are we bringing back with us? Has India changed me at all?

I don’t know the answer to these questions yet. A sense of unease permeates me as I sit in the Delhi airport. I feel between worlds. I don’t know where I belong.

Is it in India – the land of heat, sweat, smells, colour – the intense beauty, the chaos, the dirt? Or is it in quiet rural wintery New Brunswick with my hot tub, wood fire and clay-pot bread? Is it in Mexico, basking in the sun, sand and Spanish? Or is it travelling and performing in some musical milieu? I could be anywhere. I could do anything.

Maybe that’s how travelling makes you feel. Opening the door to new possibilities. A distance from familiar things. A dependance, not on what you’ve known, but on yourself.

Between worlds, all I’m left with is myself. Home has to be inside me and can encompass it all. Dreams are given a brief chance to shine.

May where I’ve been lead me to places even better. May the extraordinary journey continue…

5 thoughts on “Leaving India

  1. I love the pic and going to put it on my fridge. I will play your tunes on my road trips. I have traveled all continents but one, and I am between worlds, don’t know where I belong and I can’t be everywhere at once lol, If only …………. the world is so beautiful and magnificent. I have never been to India so thanks for the tour, both of u.

  2. The world and life is what we make it, within some given constraints/parameters.Most of us only explore or come in touch with a fraction of the possibilities.think of freelance writing…

Leave a comment